h1

Generation Y, Generation X, Baby Boomers – Age Groups

September 28, 2006

I’m just going to post this as a quick bit of information. Some of you looking at segmentation might find it useful.

A Wall Street Journal article from Sept 27 called Pitching 401(k)s To Genration Y Is a Tough Sell by Jennifer Levitz broke down the groups as follows:

  • Gen Y (18-27 years old)
  • Gen X (27-43)
  • Baby Boomer (44-61)
  • Silent Gen (above 61)

I’d never heard of that last one. Maybe you hadn’t either?

26 comments

  1. what if you are under 18 what generation are you then?


    • if u r under 18, u r in generation Z ppl who are born between 1990 and 2000.. I think so..


      • Those who are below 18 are called the M Generation (Millenia Generation).


      • I was born in 1947. my age group flooded the schools with kids because we were the starting edge of the post war baby boom.


  2. Hey there — just wondering if you have a source for this data? I found this by doing a Google search and would like to reference it.

    Thanks!
    Ryan


  3. well thats wroung cause im gen y but im under 18!!!!!


    • Hi Crysta. I believe you fall into the Gen “C” category. But maybe wrong. I’m at the other end of the spectrum, well almost. At 61 I’m a baby boomer with one son a gen X and two sons gen Y. Just live your life and enjoy it, who gives a rip what we are really. We are all human are we not, all this division of ages I think is unhelpful. I think it drives a wedge between us all. I would like your thoughts about it too.


  4. [...] one million Americans in the US live with HIV and a large majority of these citizens range in the Generation Y and X age group. In 2008, worldwide an estimated 33 million people were living with either HIV or Aids. [...]


  5. Gen Y
    is actually ages 13-27
    1996-1982


  6. after 1996 its Gen I


  7. You can’t really use dates to define a generation. ANYONE can be a millenial if he/she is tech – savvy, open – minded to ALL kinds of diversity, and into the latest music and entertainment. I was born in 1979 and all these characteristics describe me, so that makes me gen y.


  8. No it doesn’t David. You can’t just choose your generation according to your personal style. It doesn’t work like that.


  9. if that was the case, I would be silent generation even tho I am 40.


  10. I don’t like the label Generation X. I think it’s a silly name that does not offer meaning.
    I’d rather be any other Generation. I don’t like that we get labeled as lazy and slackers. That’s not true for all of us.
    This Generation has had to deal with a lot of economic turmoil so you can’t say that we have had it easy.


  11. This is stupid. It implies that you change generation as you get older. No. Your in the same one all your life. It’s divided by birthdates, not ages.


  12. u dont change generations a new gen will get added for the up and coming age group, its the age bracket that will change for each gen as time goes on


  13. your generation should be determined by birthdates- as you get older your generation doesn’t change- your generation moves with you


  14. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog

    before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back

    frequently!


  15. Hi there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be

    okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.


  16. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download
    it from

    somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple
    tweeks would really make my blog jump out.

    Please let me know where you got your design.

    Cheers


  17. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess

    I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an

    aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for first-time blog

    writers? I’d really appreciate it.


  18. As a Newbie, I am permanently searching online for articles that can

    aid me. Thank you


  19. Though it appears counterintuitive, be certain to
    drink a good amount of water on your pregnancy.
    It is thought the darker coloration from the areola helps the
    modern child to look for the nipple for breastfeeding. During pregnancy, the weight of your woman’s abdomen shifts her center of gravity. Sharks – Dogfish Sharks gestation can last approximately 24 months, although a couple of species of sharks may have longer pregnancies. In addition, filling up with water will allow you to less prone to fill through to food.


  20. Awesome blog! Do you have any tips

    and hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own website

    soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a
    free platform like

    WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any suggestions? Many thanks!


  21. Definitely believe that that you stated. Your

    favourite justification seemed to be at the internet the

    easiest thing to keep in mind of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think
    about

    issues that they just do not realize about.

    You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the

    whole thing with no need side effect , other people can take a signal.

    Will probably be back to get more. Thank you


  22. I just could not depart your website prior to suggesting that

    I really loved the usual information an individual

    provide for your guests? Is going to be again steadily to
    check out new posts



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

